Shopping cart

The 4 C’s of Diamond Buying

Each & every diamond that passes thru Harry K goes thru a rigorous test of the 4 C’s:

Carat: A carat is the unit in which a diamond is weighed, measured in increments called “points”. One carat is equal to 100 points. We measure carats on a diamond scale and while two diamonds can be of equal weight, their value can be very different depending on the color, clarity, & cut.

Color: When it comes to a diamond, no color at all is considered to be the best and most beautiful, although diamonds can come in up to 27 different hues! Diamond color is measured on a scale ranging from D (colorless) to Z (yellow). Colors beyond yellow are graded Z and higher.

Cut: Considered the most important of the 4 C’s, a diamond’s cut is what makes it sparkle and shine! More than the shape of a diamond, the cut includes proportions, symmetry, and polish.

Clarity: Clarity is the degree to which a diamond is free of flaws. Diamonds come with marks that vary in size, shape, position, quality, and color. These marks can be located internally (inclusions) and externally (blemishes).

Diamonds Uncategorized
Previous reading
Harry K’s Guide to Buying a Diamond Ring
Next reading
The 4 C’s of Diamond Buying

Our doors are open to the public! Stop by and see us today.